The Mortal Instruments: Thank God It’s Over.

I just finished the final book in The Mortal Instruments; City of Heavenly Fire. All I can say is that Cassandra Clare has redeemed herself. After the supreme and utter crappiness of the previous two books, COHF was surprisingly good, maybe even as good as the first three books. I also felt this book did very well in it’s portrayal of all the characters, especially Clary and Jace. Ii couldn’t help skimming through the parts where they were alone together (I still remember their love scene from COLS, if you do too, you’d understand). In this book, they were more than just lovestruck teenagers. They became adults. I especially liked the fact that this book, they were a couple. In all the other books, it was on again- off again- we’ve broken up now, but I wish we were on again. 

In this book, all the characters, matured. However I still didn’t have a favourite character. In my opinion, they were less irritating, but only slightly.

The weakest point in this book, in my opinion, was the part at the end where Asmodeus wiped Simon’s memory. Their plan to restore his memory was idiotic, at best. I don’t know if he’s going to Ascend, and I can’t say I care. The ending was decent, I don’t know if it was meant to be sad, like I’m not sure if bringing Tessa and Jem in was meant to be nostalgic. I also don’t like how she brought in Emma and Julian to shamelessly build up to her new series, The Dark Artifices, out Fall 2015 (I had to).

Final thoughts: COHF was a good ending to the series. The part at the end were Sebastian became Jonathan was sad, but decent. It may not have been a spectacular book, but it was better than Allegiant (which isn’t saying much).

P.S: I AM SO GLAD THAT THIS SERIES HAS ENDED AND I MAY NEVER READ THIS BOOK AGAIN. 

Leave a Reply

